Forum  •  Rules!  •  Active topics  •  Search
Pick one style if you had to choose
Automatic (anything with two pedals)

Manual

Total: 13
Forzafaithful99, 15 March 2016, 00:32
For a while, I bought it to the whole "Manuals are the only way to go, automatics are lame" mentality without having driven a manual proficiently myself. Well, I started learning and have a new found appreciation for my automatic... and manuals. I have to say that after learning more about them and practicing (ehem...stalling) -a lot- I definitely appreciate them as drivers cars. In general, I find manuals to feel faster and more fun even if they're not. You have more of a sense of control. However, they are actually tiring to drive, and when I'm driving back from a track meet or whatever late at night... I appreciate the simplicity of a two pedal car. So I guess what I'm getting at is: what do you prefer? Of course they each have their own perks in different situations... but what if you had to pick one for the rest of your life?

Forzafaithful99
W16, 15 March 2016, 00:45
I can't really vote for either. I daily drive a manual and you reach a point where it's not a burden anymore, it just feels natural. But it all depends on the car. My car, a Focus ST, would be boring with an automatic so it's rewarding being able to row the gears. I've driven other cars, like the Cayman GT4 or Audi S4 that are absolutely ideal set up with a manual. But I've driven other cars like the 991 GT3 or McLaren 650S where I definitely appreciate their super fast transmissions.

I've come to the conclusion that any single-clutch transmission (early R8, 599, etc) should be manual, but the good dual-clutch (GT3, 650S, etc) are perfect how they are. As for a daily driver, it depends on your commute. Heavy traffic sucks but I don't deal with it much so I'm fine with it.

W16
from Pennsylvania
DjShift, 15 March 2016, 01:32
Call me lame if you want but nomatter the car, I'll always prefer an automatic.

DjShift